Blog > Wellness > Do you know what Chakras are?


published in 5 de Maio de 2020 | 4 reading time

"Do you know what Chakras are?"

We live in challenging times when, at times, we are plagued by anxiety, stress, some physical, mental and emotional imbalance. You have certainly thought, or heard someone say, “I need to align my chakras”.

But … what are chakras? How can your alignment help you feel better?

Our universe is composed of energy, just like each one of us. Chakra means “Wheel” and has its origin in yoga and the Veda tradition. This “wheel” is a light, which resembles energy, responsible for the distribution of our vital energy (prana). There are countless sources of energy in our body. However, there are seven main chakras located along the spine that connect the physical body and consciousness. Each of these 7 chakras has a different kind of energy and performs specific functions in the body and mind, being associated with a part of the body. Knowing its characteristics and location allows us to be aware and feel some energy blocks. Chakras generate the desired harmony of mind, body and spirit: A full connection with our interior.

So, what are the 7 Chakras?

1st Muladhara “Foundation” – (Root Chakra)

Located at the base of the spine, in the perineum, coccyx, it is represented by the color red. This chakra is responsible for our survival, for the vitality of the body. Aligned, it allows us to be courageous, stable, calm, patient, safe. In disequilibrium we are angry, tense, insecure, violent.

One piece of advice this chakra can give us: drink more water!

2nd Svadhishthana “Pleasure” – (Navel Chakra)

Located below the navel, in the 5th lumbar vertebra, it is represented by the orange color. Responsible for physical strength and vitality, this aligned chakra allows you to assimilate new ideas, give and receive, feel desire and joy. This chakra is intricately linked to emotions. In imbalance, it generates confusion, impotence, bladder problems, sexual problems and being overweight.

This chakra alerts us to be attentive of your diet: maintain healthy intake of food.

3rd Manipura “City of precious stones” – (Solar Plexus Chakra)

Located above the umbilical scar, the first lumbar vertebra, it is represented by the yellow color and has the function of digestion, metabolism and our personal identity. Aligned allows self-control, authority, energy, humor, personal power and transformation. Misaligned generates fear, hatred, digestive problems and anger.

Advice: pay attention to the organization of your time! Be active and prioritize.

4th Anahata “Undefeated” – (Heart Chakra)

Located in the center of the chest, in the fourth dorsal vertebra, its functions are love and stimulate blood circulation. Aligned, this chakra generates unconditional love, compassion, balance, acceptance and peace. In imbalance, heart and circulatory problems, sadness, emotional instability.

This chakra tells you: to be more affectionate

5th Vishuddhi “Pure” – (Throat chakra)

Located on the neck, on the seventh cervical vertebra, it is light blue in color and has the function of sound, vibration and communication. Aligned, it generates good communication, creativity, ease of expression. In imbalance, thyroid problems, lack of creativity and communication problems.

Take note: Eliminate negative words from your vocabulary.

6th Ajna “Command Center” – (Front Chakra)

Located between the eyebrows and is indigo blue. This chakra has the function of revitalizing the nervous system and vision. In harmony it allows concentration, intuition, psychic abilities. Misaligned causes headaches, fear, eye problems, nightmares.

One of the most important pieces of advice right now: Think Positive!

7th Sahasrara “The thousand-leaf lotus” – (Crown Chakra)

Located at the top of the head, its color is violet. Its main functions are to revitalize the brain and enlightenment. Energized, this chakra opens awareness to the infinite and gives us a sense of peace. In imbalance, confusion, forgetfulness, depression and lack of inspiration.

Take the advice of this chakra: Meditate or learn to meditate (See our video)

What can I do at home to align my Chakras?

Practice yoga, meditation, reiki. Regular massages align and balance these fundamental energy centers to our physical, mental, emotional and energetic well-being.

Mandalay Spa rituals focus on this balance. One of the Ayurvedic treatments that can help you is the Kansa Ritual. In this ritual we work on the energy blocks that sometimes manifest themselves on a physical level, unlocking them through fluid and rhythmic movements. After the ritual, blood and energy flow harmoniously and you will feel your body balanced and connected to your roots.

It leaves you with a relaxed body and calm mind.

Offer a massage to those you love the most. It is a gesture of love, health and well-being. Be happy and make others happy.


A TOPSPA Consultants é a empresa líder na área de consultoria e gestão de Spas no mercado hoteleiro, em Portugal. Fundada em 2015 com a ambição de ser a melhor a empresa a operar no mercado Wellness & Spa em Portugal, possui atualmente 8 Spas em gestão própria e o maior número de prémios atribuídos pelos World Luxury Spa Awards. A divulgação e partilha de conhecimento, são parte integrante dos valores da empresa, efetuada através de formação profissional, palestras, workshops e docência das disciplinas de Saúde e Bem-Estar em diversos cursos Superiores e Técnicos nas Escolas de Hotelaria e Turismo.

Share whith your friends

Vouchers de Aniversário